Guest Comments & Reviews

Read comments from our previous guests, both on day trips and overnight stays, to hear just how magical it can be to experience the best of Abel Tasman National Park with Wilsons.

More reviews on Trip Advisor

IgoUgo reviews of Accommodation and Exploring Abel Tasman with THE Park Experts

Written feedback from some of our previous guests:

Moira-Clare, New Zealand, February 2017

The people and the organisation combined with the beauty of the Abel Tasman Park add up to a very special package. I feel that Wilsons have enabled me to share in something very special! Thank you!

Kelley, USA, December 2014

Mike and Paddy were truly amazing - renaissance men! Walkers, kayakers, historians, washers, comforters. They made me really see and experience the park.

Chris & Kate, USA, December 2014

The variety of walking and kayaking and the ability to adjust the itinerary and activities due to weather and group interest was great. 
Staying in comfortable lodges with hot showers and cooked meals was great
.
It was well worth the money for Wilsons to plan all of the logistics - boat transfers, tides, lodging.
The guides and lodge staff were great and helped make the experience wonderful. They tended to every need and were genuinely concerned that we have a great experience. I would use Wilsons again and recommend them to friends.

L. Gould, USA, December 2014

Don't change anything. We've taken several trips and this one surpasses them all - true adventure, comfort; incredible food - staff - guides - top to bottom friendly and helpful.

Judy, NZ, November 2014

We were blown away by the beauty of the Abel Tasman and the unique location of the Lodges. The guides, staff and the Wilsons crew were amazing. So knowledgeable, friendly, experienced and thoughtful. To sum it up. WORLD CLASS. Very proud to be a Kiwi.

Steve, USA, November 2014

This was an outstanding adventure experience. It exceeded expectations. The respect for the Park and love for it was evident throughout.

Laura, UK, November 2014

The walk was made very special by John and his fantastic knowledge or the area as well as his very friendly and chatty nature. AJ made the kayaking excellent with her stories and taking us to see the seals. All the staff were exceptional, both professional and welcoming. They made the trip very memorable and are all a real asset to the company. Thank you.

Heather and Mark, Auckland, April 2014

My husband and I had the great pleasure of being a part of one of your wonderful three day guided excursions... From the moment we were picked up by Carl at our motel, these proved to be three days of unforgettable highlights.
 
We were looked after in style at all times, but have to make particular mention of our guides John, Marios and AJ. Their care and attention to every detail was outstanding. We noted the way each of them got alongside every member of our party, to talk at length and to show a personal interest in them. I am sure this is no mean feat when you have a large group, which in our case included a large number of children. AJ was the undoubted star with those children.
 
Along with a young Dutch woman, we had the privilege of walking much of the track with John and what an enlightening and inspiring time that was. His depth of knowledge and love of the area was totally infectious. We gained so much more than we ever would have expected. We were also totally impressed and humbled by his care for the land...
 
The stunning and breath-taking scenery, the comfort of the lodges, the wonderful dinners  and lunches  and most importantly the special people we met have all combined to make this one of our most memorable holidays... You may be sure we will be recommending you and your beautiful part of the world to all our Auckland friends.

Nicki, Tuatara Tours, Christchurch, April 2014

As the summer winds down, we were fortunate to be able to join the Wilsons Team for the 3 day Abel Tasman Guided Walk, a fantastic walk with a lovely comfy bed and a delicious dinner at the end of each day, what a great way to see the Abel Tasman National Park. A definite "Must-do!"

Gill and Charles, Botswana, April 2014

Too short, went too fast, wanted to start all over again at the end. Amazing experience! I'll never forget it.

Carolyn, New Zealand, April 2014

Can't believe all this can be done in little old NZ. We are privileged to experience it.

Evelyn, Malaysia, March 2014

Felt safe and in good hands throughout the trip.

Anon, USA, March 2014

Thank you for your gluten free options. Food was amazing!!

Unsigned, March 2014

Having done the walk 14 year earlier, I knew what to expect. It lived up those high expectation. All staff were excellent and always went out of their way to meet any needs.

Unsigned, Feb 2014

It was my first kayaking trip - loved every minute.

Deborah, USA, January 2014

Everything was absolutely wonderful. I will return for the 5-day walk. Thank you for a very special journey.

Joanne, NZ, January 2014

Kayaking was scary but amazing.

Jane, NZ, January 2014

I have travelled extensively. This was one of the best holidays I have ever had. Beautiful scenery, seamless organisation. The group we were with were both knowledgeable and entertaining.

Unsigned, November 2013

So glad we chose to do this trip with Wilsons. The hosting was a bonus. Made the days walk even more enjoyable.

Muz, Australia, November 2013

(Marios) is a pommy but a real nice bastard. Garrick was fair dinkum too.

Webber, New Zealand, November 2013

I was impressed with Aneika's (guide) kindness, watchfullness and humour.

Linda, Canada, November 2013

Would have liked to have stayed an extra day at each Lodge.

Richard, USA, December 2013

One of our best Christmas days ever.

Spink, UK, December 2013

Overall a great experience from start to finish. Great staff, great food, welcoming hospitality; made my experience of Abel Tasman very special and memorable.

Dirk, Germany, December 2013

It was really astonishing with what great joy and fun all guides and lodge staff served us. Wilsons is a very professional organised company but you are treated like friends.

Unsigned, December 2013

We were asked to be totally honest in completing these evaluation forms and this is completely honest! 10/10 all round. Thank you to all your staff for an amazing trip.

Chris, Australia, November 2013

Both guides were generous with their hospitality and willingness to share knowledge. Safety was obviously a very high priority for them.

Chelsea, USA, December 2012

Shannon (Guide) really added to the trip...I would recommend this trip to anyone looking for adventure with the creature comforts of home. Thank you Wilsons and Shannon for making this a memorable experience.

Anthony, UK, December 2012

Wilsons take away any stress because everything is well planned and organised. Well done Wilsons.

Graham, NZ, December 2012

This was a family get together (3 generations). Absolutely ideal! Wonderful family time during the days and evenings. And easy to get the boat round when the oldies needed a rest from walking.

Sebastian, UK, December 2012

As a teenager, it has inspired me to appreciate nature and realise what a beautiful country New Zealand is.

Yvonne and David, UK, December 2012

Best Christmas ever!

The Vohra family, USA, December 2012

Just the right balance to enjoy the spectacular beauty of the park. The staff were so caring and always smiling. Very experienced!

Greg and Lisa, Wales, December 2012

The whole thing was run superbly and surpassed expectations.

Andrea and David, USA, November 2012

The highlight was the stories of the park and the Maori culture.

Trevor, UK, November 2012

All staff went out of their way to be helpful, accommodating & ensure that our needs were met.

Ed, UK, November 2012

Emma (Guide) did a great job making the the trip interesting, safe and enjoyable.

Sarae, USA, November 2012

I intend to eagerly recommend your company... to anyone I know planning a trip to NZ. I could not be happier.

Alison, NZ, October 2012

Thank you for dealing with the special idiosyncrasies of my family group...You dealt with it all effortlessly which meant we had a wonderful family holiday.

Mark, NZ, October 2012

Shannon (Guide) very safety conscious and flexible around our wishes.

Andrea, NZ, October 2012

Food & service was top class & logistically everything got to where it needed to be.

Rosemary, October 2012

I’ve just recently completed a five day walk with your company.  I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it. We had a brilliant young guide, Emma. She not only guided us competently, but was very caring. Her knowledge of the wildlife and flora of the area was excellent.   The accommodation and staff at both lodges were superb.  The scenery was stunning.  I’d highly recommend your company to my friends and family.

Frans, Sept 2012, Australia

Welcome from staff at the lodges was warm and friendly and the food was fantastic.

 Melanie, Takaka, September 2011:

I had a fabulous time. John was a warm-hearted, entertaining and informative guide and Adam really friendly, inclusive and also knew a lot about different kinds of things. Feel a bit spoilt now for normal tramping. I have to say the hot shower on my achy hips at the end of the day, followed by a comfortable soft seat was the perfect thing. We did the Milford last March freedom walking and the hardest thing about it for me was the hard wooden benches without backs in the huts!! Oh for a comfortable padded seat at the end of a long day's walking.

Helen, Nelson, May 2011

As a family we took advantage of your Vista Cruise offer and did a cruise and walk... The weather was perfect that day and the friendly Wilson Team looked after us all so well, (great to see the high standards of staff and the customer service you provide are so consistent, year in year out!!!) A personal thanks also to Tracy who sold us the tickets and took the time to catch up with us on the boat.... so friendly, genuine and a nice personal touch!!!

Amanda, Nelson, April 2011

We took advantage of your local and Christchurch residents deal and had an amazing day out with you on Wednesday. We took along some visitors from the UK as well who thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was very rough but we throughly enjoyed ourselves. I think that the roller coaster boat ride was the highlight for the 4 kids (aged 5 to 13). All the staff were exceptionally competent and friendly. Very impressive in the conditions.Thank you for providing such a fantastic trip at such an exceptional price. It was much appreciated.

Catherine, New Zealand, April 2011

We had to deal with airport closed by fog and everything was promptly re-scheduled - very efficient and helpful staff.

Geoff, New Zealand, April 2011

Particularly enjoyed having the rest days in between the walk/kayak days. Guides/Staff/Accommodation/meals all top class.

Norma, Australia, March 2011

It was altogether a great week that I'd recommend to others who want to get away from the rat race for a complete break.

Mary, Australia, March 2011

Scenery is spectacular and this, combined with friendly hospitality and delicious food, made for a memorable stay.

Bill, California March 2011

Just wanted to say thanks for a wonderful adventure and to tell you what a fabulous job (your Guides) did.

Brent, New Zealand Feb 2011

As New Zealanders, both my wife and I found this trip faultless. The staff excelled, nothing was too difficult for the staff to accommodate.

Shults, USA Feb 2011 .

Wilson people obviously know and love their work - speaks highly of the company. Great people = great company.

Roger, USA, Jan 2011

(Guides) add great dimension to Maori, nature, history - exceptional. All staff exceptional.

Jenny and Bob, Australia Jan 2011

Great trip which perfectly lived up to expectations. Knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff, always helpful and considerate made this a great experience.

The Tobin family, New Zealand, December 2010

Can't think of anything that should be changed, it's all run very well, all very organised, friendly staff, great food, perfect for a family trip.

Robina, New Zealand, Dec 2010

This was a spectacular trip to come home to; it made me remember why I need to come back to NZ more often!

Sandra and Peter, UK, November 2010

Everything exceeded our best expectations and was a very memorable experience from start to finish. Very professional.

Jim, California, October 2010

Without doubt the highlight of the trip was spending 5 delightful days with our outstanding guides. We felt like old friends by the end of the trip.

Joanna & Grant, Auckland, April 2010

Word of mouth has worked!! We gave our neighbour your brochure and she has just told me they have booked the 5 dayer walk.

Julian, Auckland, April 2010

...a fantastic break it was in such perfect weather and one that will be remembered for a long time. Will be the 5 dayer next time! Best to you all.. for making a memorable weekend work so well.

Mimi, Australia, April 2010

We are really feeling the benefit of our beautiful stay in the South Island. The highlight of the trip, naturally, was the magnificent Abel Tasman National Park and the stays in the marine villas were brilliant...We enjoyed the beautiful food and all the care you took in making our trip safe and memorable. We wish all our friends could make the trip.

Anne Taylor, New Zealand, March 2010

I had many concerns and reservations about this trip. The 'team' were excellent, supportive, caring and put no pressure on me. I more than achieved what I expected to. I have never kayaked ever and feel on top of the world. Thanks to a great team.

Tim Lee, New Zealand, March 2010

Great trip - exceeded expectations. Represented the region, park and NZ very well. Guides were fun and well informed.

Roz & Barny, Scotland, February 2010

"We had a fab 2 days and can't wait to come back!!!

Jack Kirsch, USA, Feburary 2010

Guide should be cloned and given to other tour groups.

Fiona Sayes, New Zealand, March 2010

This was a trip that had been anticipated for a number of years (on my "bucket list"). This has been one of the highlights of my life.

Richard Money, England, March 2010

Excellent trip overall. The guides and staff at the lodges made everything a very personal experience - nothing was too much trouble. The food and the lodges were excellent. A wonderful experience.

Sheridan Lee, Australia, March 2010

I had high expectations and they were met! Top trip - can't really fault it. I didn't have a reading light by my bed at Torrent Bay Lodge - but really, I quibble. Should be very proud - world class, both natural environment (pristine & spectacular), & the Wilson approach!

Kim & Scott, USA, February 2010

This was the highlight of our trip to New Zealand.

Gardener, Northern England, February 2010

We have had a most memorable time in a truly special place.

You can read more Wilsons Abel Tasman reviews on Trip Advisor.